Living and Working in New York for a year..Need advice

Exploring

I will live ,work and study in New York city, New jersey for a year starting this April and will come back to Thailand around April 2011.I am pretty much interested in New York area and obviously I am a newbie there .So I want to ask you guys that

1. which places should I once visite when I will be there for every seasons?

2. Probably, which spots will it be dangerous at night or even days?Can I visit alone?

Thanks for your help and I am up for everythings ...night to day..historical places , musuem ,club, art, shopping malls, park.

I will live ,work and study in New York city, New jersey for a year starting this April and will come back to Thailand around April 2011.I am pretty much interested in New York area and obviously I am a newbie there .So I want to ask you guys that

1. which places should I once visite when I will be there for every seasons?

2. Probably, which spots will it be dangerous at night or even days?Can I visit alone?

Thanks for your help and I am up for everythings ...night to day..historical places , musuem ,club, art, shopping malls, park.

Oooo...lots to see and do. There isn't much that you cannot do in NYC...if you have the money :)

You will arrive in the springtime, which is perfect. NYC is a great walking city. No need for a car (parking is a headache and really expensive). Start learning the metro map now.

You're a girl, so I assume you love shopping. Check out Saks 5th Avenue, Macy's, and Bloomingdale's. For shows...there is the obvious one to start with...Broadway. I'm not sure if they still have it, but they used to have discounted tickets sold the day of the show right at the ticket counter.

Head to the Empire State building and bring a map. You can see for miles and miles, and it will help you to get yourself oriented. Times Square and Rockefeller Center are other must sees.