Learning Thai

shakee

This subject has probably been covered to death but I am a newbie so please forgive me. 8)

What is the best way to learn thai? Do any of you have any good advice, places or ways to learn the language.I will probably initially start on conversation at the beginning and then later learn to read and write. I live in Bangkok and most of the time I feel left out because I want to engage in conversations with Thais. I am missing out a lot. Any suggestions would be great.

I just have a desire, and respect for the culture and way of life to want to learn and converse with people I am living with.

peace :D

This subject has probably been covered to death but I am a newbie so please forgive me. 8)

What is the best way to learn thai? Do any of you have any good advice, places or ways to learn the language.I will probably initially start on conversation at the beginning and then later learn to read and write. I live in Bangkok and most of the time I feel left out because I want to engage in conversations with Thais. I am missing out a lot. Any suggestions would be great.

I just have a desire, and respect for the culture and way of life to want to learn and converse with people I am living with.

peace :D

Personally, I studied Thai at AUA in Chiang Mai with a tutor (one-on-one). Bangkok has the main branch of AUA of course, but the last I knew they offered only classes, not tutoring. Nonetheless they have a good system and I can recommend it.

While it's okay to start learning spoken Thai in the beginning, I'd begin studying written Thai soon thereafter. The reason is that being able to read Thai opens a new window into the language, and you can look at a word and either know that you're pronouncing it right or wrong.

There are many language schools to choose from, and I've not heard anything bad about any of them.