Hip-Hop & Rap thread.

CocoaBrotha

Do you like hip-hop?  

193 members have voted

1. 1. Do you like hip-hop?

• I enjoy it!..I love to dance to it!
    • I hate it/Hip-Hop is dead!
    • sometimes

stopped listening to it after 50c's second album but before that... or The Game's first, not sure which was released later, ok b4 that

KRS One

Ghostface Killah

The Roots

Nas

2 Pac, yep no denying

LA the Darkman

TI

Tha Pharcide

De La Soul

Dr Dre

Jay Z

Bustah Rhymes offcourse

and my all time favorites OUTKAST, I've been playing their music every week at least once for the past 5 or 6 years.

i don't listen to hip hop non stop, but it definitely does take up some space on my hard drives.

lately for hip hop it's been Blackalicious... "Lotus Flower" is one of the best hip hop songs ever and not just because it's got George Clinton on it (although that dont' hurt now does it).

but before all the patzers start in, a lil' message to 'em: if you ain't heard of Kool Herc, YOU AIN'T OLD SCHOOL.

and after the "old school" patzers, the "i hate hip hop" hillbillies will ride on in, can't wait.

this thread oughttta be fun (again)...

• 2 weeks later...

but before all the patzers start in, a lil' message to 'em: if you ain't heard of Kool Herc, YOU AIN'T OLD SCHOOL.

I think it's really a sign of the times... I mean, back in the day, dudes like Rakim and KRS One dropped music that revolutionized the genre. I honestly think you had to be there to fully appreciated the music and the impact it made. Even if you were born in the early 80s you can still appreciate Rakim's music as it was (and still is popular) for a long time. The younger generation hasn't had a rapper that revolutionized the genre in a long time, if ever, so they just don't understand. Sure, there's been rappers that dropped hot albums, but the style of lyrics and the flawless flow that Rakim delivered influenced a whole generation of emcees.