New Car in Thailand

Admin_2

I don't know much about buying a car here in Thailand, but I'm beginning my studies by buying a 70 baht magazine and asking everyone here.

Basically...I have a baby on the way, and my days taking taxis are going to decrease drastically. I'd prefer a new car only because I don't trust anything else here (maybe someone on TF can change my mind). The problem is I have about 150-200k baht to deposit on a car, so buying a new car with cash is out of the question.

Buying a used car isn't completely out of the question, but I'm a newbie when it comes to this (I trust a new car). My first instinct is to put 200k down on a new Honda Civic and make monthly payments.

That's where I'm at. Any help?

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have come to think a WELL maintained used car is a better value...

but how to get that warm and fuzzy feeling if you don't know the seller right? ???

In the States going with a relieable model is the best first move...and Hondas are bulletproof!

Still with all the TFers in the Bangkok area...

this post should be better than Craigs-list!

Unless you've Banned or Yellow Carded them!!! ??

UH-OH you're f*cked :)) :))

Since you are money tight and have a baby coming. I recommend a second hand car. the moment you drive that car out of the dealership you lose about 13 percent already. I never like to make payment, especially on something that will depreciate. Try to pay it off within a year. Than maybe 3 years down the road you can consider buying a new one. Of course with buying a second hand car you should alway have a reliable mechanic to have a look. Maybe you should post an ads on bahtsold or thaivisa for good 2nd hand car.

Btw, congratulation on becoming a father.You are one fast and hard worker. Also if you really need a loan. You can contact Bank of Michael.